Important information about purchasing from Amazon in the US.

RØDE Microphones does not authorize Fulfilled By Amazon. We have purchased counterfeit RØDE products using Fulfilled by Amazon and highly recommend that you only purchase RØDE products from authorised dealers.

If you purchase any RØDE microphone from an unauthorized dealer via Fulfilled By Amazon you will not receive any US warranty or technical support.

You can view a full list of authorized US dealers here.

G’day from Sydney!

Willkommen bei RØDE Microphones - einem einzigartigen australischen Audio-Unternehmen. Unseren Geschäftssitz liegt im schönen Sydney, nur 20 km westlich der Innenstadt Sydneys und direkt neben dem Austragungsort der olympischen Spiele von Sydney 2000.

In drei Lagerhäusern mit einer Gesamtfläche von mehr als 10.220 Quadratmetern, in denen RØDE modernste Anlagen und Präzisionsmaschinen im Wert von über 60 Million Dollar stehen hat, arbeitet ein internationales Team von mehr als 250 Mitarbeitern, die hochqualifiziert und fachübergreifend geschult sind: Elektrotechnik, Industriedesign, Ingenieurtechnik, Metallverarbeitung, Werkzeugbau, Logistik, Montage, Qualitätskontrolle, Finanzen, Marketing und Vertrieb.

Neben unserer Zentrale in Sydney haben wir Geschäftsstellen in Los Angeles, New York, London, Hongkong, Shenzhen und Seoul; die Geschäftsstelle in Tokio soll Ende 2017 eröffnet werden. Unser umfangreicher Vertrieb und das 4000-starke Händlernetzwerk sorgen dafür, dass RØDE Mikrofone in 113 Ländern verkauft werden – und sich weiter im Wachsen befindet – RØDE ist damit ein globales Unternehmen.

2017 markiert das 50-jährige Bestehen unseres Mutterunternehmens Freedman Electronics einen bemerkenswerter Meilenstein für moderne Unternehmen.

RØDE-Historie

Gemälde von Freedman Electronics
Die ursprüngliche Werkstatt in der Liverpool Rd, Ashfield, in Sydney. Gemälde von Jim Wynne.

1967

Die Türen öffnen sich

Freedman Electronics wurde 1967 gegründet, als Henry und Astrid Freedman eine Werkstatt eröffneten, nachdem Sie von Schweden nach Australien ausgewandert waren.

Bald wurde Freedman Electronics in der neuen australischen Audio-Branche führend, wurde Experte für Lautsprecher, Verstärker und kundenspezifische Elektronik und experimentierte auch mit seltsamen Mikrofonen.

Freedman Electronics war zudem das erste australische Unternehmen, das Dynacord-Mischpulte einführte, die in Australien berühmt wurden, als Henry hinter dem Pult saß und den Ton für einen jungen Tom Jones während seiner Australien-Tournee 1968 mischte.

Ingenieure der Freedman Electronics, 1989; Mischpult-Ingenieur John Qiu (Mitte) ist noch immer Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens.

1990

Die Geburt RØDEs

Aufgrund der technologischen Weiterentwicklung und der relativ niedrigen Kosten für Heimanlagen, erreichten Aufnahmegeräte in den 1990er Jahren neue Höhen, die Bühne war für das niedrigpreisige, qualitativ hochwertigen Mikrofon vorbereitet.

Nachdem man ein Mikrofon aus China bezogen und auf dem australischen Markt getestet hatte, begannen Henrys Sohn Peter Freedman und RØDE die Infrastruktur zum Entwerfen, Bauen und Herstellen von Mikrofonen in Australien zu entwickeln.

Bald lief das ausschließlich in Australien entworfene, gebaute und hergestellte RØDE NT2 vom Band und begann eine erstaunliche Reise, auf der RØDE die Art revolutionierte, wie Menschen auf der ganzen Welt alltäglich Audioaufnahmen machen.

Anders als bei den meisten Wettbewerbern, wird die Präzisionsbearbeitung von Metall bei RØDE hausintern vorgenommen, was Qualität und Effizienz garantiert.

2000

Der Erfolg

RØDE verfügte als zentrale Werte immer über Technologie und Präzisionsfertigung.

In einer Entscheidung, die nicht im Einklang mit der herkömmlichen Denkweise steht, wurde in den 2000er Jahren bei RØDE intensivst in neuste Maschinen und Technologien investiert, um Mikrofone der Weltklasse in allen Kategorien zu erschwinglichen Preisen in Australien zu produzieren.

Diese Investitionen in Maschinen für die Fertigung halt an und umfassen jetzt Elektronik, Kunststoff und Metall, für die RØDE Mikrofone weltweit bewundert werden.

2008

Kamera-Mikrofon Dominance

Mit Beginn der 2000er Jahre, entwickelte Peter ein Kamera-Mikrofon, um vernünftige Audioaufnahmen von den Rugbyspielen seines Sohnes zu erhalten. Das RØDE VideoMic wurde 2008 ein Bestseller, als DSLR-Kameras auf einmal in der Lage waren, Videomaterial in Kinoqualität zu liefern.

RØDEs umfangreiches Angebot an Kamera-Mikrofonen und Zubehör sind in dieser Kategorie weltweit die Nummer eins. Wie das NT2 in den frühen 1990er Jahren, war dies ein weiteres Beispiel dafür, wie RØDE Audio-Produkte in professioneller Qualität einer neuen Generation von Entwicklern verfügbar macht.

2017

50 Jahre!

Vom bescheidenen Anfang einer Ladenfront im Jahr 1967, wurde Freedman Electronics das Zuhause von vier Kraftzentren pro Audio-Marke: Aphex, Event Electronics, SoundField und natürlich RØDE Microphones.

Bei Musikaufnahmen und -performance, Rundfunk, Filmemachen, Nachrichtenübertragung und drahtloser Übertragung wurden die Mikrofone von RØDE zu den gängigsten und RØDE zum globalen Kraftzentrum für Audio.

Im Laufe der Jahre erkannte man in RØDE einen Branchenführer für Design und Geschäfte, der zahlreiche Red Dot Auszeichnungen bekam sowie den Australian International Design Awards und den Australian Manufacturing Exporter für das Jahr 2013.

Der Gründer von RØDE, Peter Freedman, nahm den Order of Australia vom Gouverneur von NSW, seiner Exzellenz General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC entgegen.

2016 wurde dem Gründer und Vorstandsvorsitzenden Peter Freedman der Order of Australia für Dienstleistungen beim Export und Mäzenatentum verliehen.

Peter Freedman AM und der australische Premierminister, The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP in der Silverwater-Zentrale, Februar 2017

Im Februar 2017 besuchte der australische Ministerpräsident, The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, den Silverwater Campus und erwies dem Erfolg und Jubiläum von RØDE die Ehre indem er meinte: „RØDE Microphones sind legendär… es sind die besten weltweit. Es ist eine außerordentliche Firmengeschichte.“

Zur Feier dieses Meilensteins publizierte RØDE ein Gedenkbuch, RØDE TRIP Street Side to Worldwide: Inside 50 Years of Freedman Electronics and RØDE Microphones.

DIE NÄCHSTEN 50 JAHRE

RØDE wird weiterhin Innovationen liefern, um neue Produkte und Kategorien zu entwickeln, Produktion und Dienstleistungen zu optimieren und, letztendlich, um Millionen Menschen zu inspirieren, ihre kreativen Visionen mit modernsten, hochpräzisen und erschwinglichen Mikrofonen und Zubehör zu realisieren.

Aus Sydney, Australien und jetzt aus jeder Stadt der Welt. Willkommen bei RØDE!

Important information about purchasing from Amazon in the US.

RØDE Microphones does not authorize Fulfilled By Amazon. We have purchased counterfeit RØDE products using Fulfilled by Amazon and highly recommend that you only purchase RØDE products from authorised dealers.

If you purchase any RØDE microphone from an unauthorized dealer via Fulfilled By Amazon you will not receive any US warranty or technical support.

You can view a full list of authorized US dealers here.

G'day from Sydney!

Welcome to RØDE Microphones - a uniquely Australian owned and operated audio company. Our home is in beautiful Sydney, just 20km west of Sydney's downtown area and right near the home of the Sydney 2000 Olympics.

Comprising three warehouses with a total footprint of over 110,000 square feet, the RØDE state-of-the-art plant has over 60 million dollars in precision machinery and an international team of more than 250 people across highly skilled disciplines: electrical engineering, industrial design, technical engineering, metal production, toolmaking, logistics, assembly, quality control, finance, marketing and sales.

As well as our main campus in Sydney, we have offices in Los Angeles, New York, London, Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Seoul; the Tokyo office is due to release later in 2017. Our extensive distributor and 4000-strong dealer network ensures RØDE Microphones are sold in 113 countries – and growing – making RØDE a truly global company.

2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the parent company Freedman Electronics’ formation, a remarkable milestone in modern business.

The story of RØDE

Freedman Electronics painting
The original store on Liverpool Rd, Ashfield, in Sydney. Painting by Jim Wynne.

1967

The Doors Open

Freedman Electronics began in 1967 when Henry and Astrid Freedman opened shop after migrating to Australia from Sweden.

Freedman Electronics soon became a leader in the fledgling Australian audio industry, becoming experts in loudspeakers, amplifiers and custom electronics as well as dabbling in the odd microphone.

Freedman Electronics was also the first company in Australia to carry Dynacord consoles which gained fame in Australia whilst Henry sat behind the desk mixing a young Tom Jones during his 1968 tour of Australia.

Freedman Electronics engineers, c1989; Capsule Engineer John Qiu (centre) is still with the company.

1990

The Birth of RØDE

With the technological advancement and relative low cost of gear for the home recording enthusiast hitting new heights in the 1990s, the stage was set for the entry of a low-cost, high-quality microphone.

Having sourced a microphone from China and tested the market in Australia, Henry's son Peter Freedman and RØDE began creating the infrastructure to design, build and manufacture microphones in Australia.

Soon the entirely Australian designed, built and manufactured RØDE NT2 began to roll off the production line and start the amazing journey that has seen RØDE revolutionise how people record audio every day, all around the world.

Unlike most competitors, precision metal machining is performed in-house at RØDE, guaranteeing quality and efficiency.

2000

Manufacturing Success

RØDE has always had technology and precision manufacturing at the core of its values.

In a decision that is at odds with received wisdom, the 2000s saw RØDE invest heavily in the latest machinery and technology to produce world-class microphones across all categories at accessible prices, in Australia.

This investment in the machines of manufacture continues, and now includes the electronics, plastics and metals that make RØDE microphones revered around the world.

2008

On-camera Dominance

Early in the 2000s, Peter created an on-camera microphone so he could get decent audio of his son’s rugby matches. The RØDE VideoMic became a bestseller in 2008 as DSLR cameras became capable of producing cinema-quality video.

RØDE’s extensive range of on-camera microphones and accessories are the number one microphones in the category in the world. Like the NT2 in the early 1990s, this was another example of RØDE making professional quality audio products available to a new generation of creators.

2017

50 Years!

From its humble beginning as a storefront in 1967, Freedman Electronics has become the home to four powerhouse pro audio brands: Aphex, Event Electronics, SoundField and, of course, RØDE Microphones.

Across music recording and performance, broadcast, filmmaking, newsgathering and wireless, RØDE has become the go-to microphone and, along the way, a global powerhouse in pro audio.

Over the years RØDE has been recognised as an industry leader in design and business, earning numerous Red Dot awards, Australian International Design awards and the Australian Manufacturing Exporter of the year for 2013.

RØDE Founder Peter Freedman accepts the Order of Australia from the Governor-General of NSW, His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC

In 2016, Founder & Chairman Peter Freedman was awarded the Order of Australia for services to export and philanthropy in the arts.

Peter Freedman AM and the Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP at the Silverwater HQ, February 2017

In February 2017, the Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, visited the Silverwater campus and paid homage to RØDE’s success and anniversary, saying, “RØDE Microphones are legend… they are the best in the world. It’s an extraordinary story.”

To celebrate the milestone, RØDE produced the commemorative book, RØDE TRIP Street Side to Worldwide: Inside 50 Years of Freedman Electronics and RØDE Microphones.

THE NEXT 50 YEARS

RØDE will continue to innovate, to create new products and categories, to improve production and service, and, ultimately, to inspire millions to realise their creative vision with cutting edge, precision-quality, accessible microphones and accessories.

From Sydney, Australia and now every city in the world, Welcome to RØDE.