Important information about purchasing from Amazon in the US.

RØDE Microphones does not authorize Fulfilled By Amazon. We have purchased counterfeit RØDE products using Fulfilled by Amazon and highly recommend that you only purchase RØDE products from authorised dealers.

If you purchase any RØDE microphone from an unauthorized dealer via Fulfilled By Amazon you will not receive any US warranty or technical support.

You can view a full list of authorized US dealers here.

G'day from Sydney!

Bienvenue à RØDE Microphones - Une entreprise d'audio australienne gérée de manière remarquable. Notre siège se trouve dans la magnifique ville de Sidney, 20 kilomètres à l'ouest du centre-ville de Sidney et juste à côté du siège du comité olympique de Sydney 2000.

Avec trois entrepôts et une superficie totale de plus de 10 219 mètres carrés, l'usine moderne de RØDE comporte des équipements de précision d'une valeur qui dépasse 60 millions de dollars et une équipe internationale de plus de 250 personnes dans des disciplines très pointues, l'ingénierie électrique, la conception industrielle, l'ingénierie technique, la production métallique, la fabrication d'outils, la logistique, l'assemblage, le contrôle de qualité, les finances, le marketing et les ventes.

En plus de notre siège principal à Sidney, nous avons des bureaux à Los Angeles, à New York, à Londres, à Hong Kong, à Shenzhen et à Séoul, le bureau de Tokyo ouvrira à la fin de 2017. Notre important distributeur et notre large réseau de 4 000 détaillants assurent que les Microphones RØDE sont vendus dans 113 pays, et que l'entreprise poursuit sa croissance faisant de RØDE une entreprise mondiale.

L'année 2017 marque le 50ème anniversaire de l'entreprise parente Freedman Electronics, un événement important pour l'entreprise moderne.

Histoire de RØDE

Le tableau de Freedman Electronics
Le magasin original sur la route Liverpool, Ashfield, à Sidney. Le tableau par Jim Wynne.

1967

Les portes s'ouvrent

L'entreprise Freedman Electronics a été lancée en 1967 quand Henry et Astrid Freedman ont ouvert l'atelier après avoir quitté la Suède pour immigrer en Australie.

L'entreprise Freedman Electronics est rapidement devenue un chef de fil dans l'industrie naissante de l'audio en Australie avec des experts dans les domaines des haut-parleurs, des amplificateurs et du matériel électronique spécialisé en plus d'entrer dans le monde des microphones.

Freedman Electronics a été aussi la première entreprise en Australie à commercialiser les consoles Dynacord qui ont gagné en popularité en Australie pendant qu'Henry était assis derrière le comptoir en train de mixer la musique du jeune Tom Jones durant son tour d'Australie en 1968.

Les ingénieurs de Freedman Electronics, c1989; ingénieur de pastilles microphonique John Qiu (centre) est toujours avec l'entreprise.

1990

La naissance de RØDE

Grâce au progrès technologique et au coût relativement inférieur des équipements pour les amateurs d'enregistrement à domicile qui a atteint de nouveaux records en 1990, le terrain était préparé pour l'entrée d'un microphone de haute qualité et à coût réduit.

Ayant importé un microphone de la Chine et testé le marché en Australie, le fils d'Henry Peter Freedman et RØDE ont commencé à créer l'infrastructure pour concevoir et fabriquer des microphones en Australie.

Quelque temps après, le NT2 de RØDE, entièrement fabriqué et conçu en Australie, a commencé de sortir des chaînes de production pour démarrer cette magnifique aventure qui a permis à RØDE de révolutionner la méthode dont les gens enregistrent leur audio tous les jours, partout dans le monde.

Contrairement à la plupart des concurrents, l'usinage métallique de précision est effectué à l'interne chez RØDE, ce qui garantit la qualité et l'efficacité.

2000

Le succès

RØDE a toujours eu la technologie et la fabrication de précision au centre de ses valeurs.

Dans une décision contraire à la sagesse connue, pendant les années 2000, RØDE a beaucoup investi dans les technologies et équipements les plus récents pour fabriquer des microphones de classe mondiale dans toutes les catégories et à des prix abordables, en Australie.

Cet investissement dans les machines de fabrication se poursuit, et inclut maintenant les composants électroniques, le plastique et les métaux qui font la réputation des microphones de RØDE dans le monde.

2008

Dominance sur caméra

Au début des années 2000, Peter a créé un microphone sur caméra pour qu'il puisse avoir un bon audio des matches de rugby de son fils. Le VideoMic de RØDE est devenu l'article le plus vendu en 2008 en tant que caméra reflex pouvant produire une vidéo de qualité cinématographique.

La large gamme de microphones sur caméra et d'accessoires de RØDE sont classés en première place dans leurs catégories au monde. Comme le NT2 au début des années 1990, c'était un autre exemple de RØDE rendant des produits audio de qualité professionnelle disponibles pour une nouvelle génération de créateurs.

2017

50 ans !

À partir de ses débuts modestes comme comptoir de services en 1967, Freedman Electronics est devenue le point de départ de quatre marques audio professionnelles principales : Aphex, Event Electronics, SoundField et bien sûr, RØDE Microphones.

Par l'enregistrement et la performance de la musique, la diffusion, le cinéma, la collecte de nouvelles et le sans-fil, RØDE est devenu le spécialiste du microphone, et aussi un centre mondial dans l'audio professionnel.

Au fil des années, RØDE est devenu un chef de fil de l'industrie dans la conception et les affaires gagnant plusieurs prix Red Dot, des prix de conception australiens et internationaux, et le prix d'exportateur de l'année pour l'industrie australienne pour l'année 2013.

Le fondateur de RØDE, Peter Freedman, accepte l'Ordre d'Australie du Gouverneur Général de NSW, son Excellence Général, l'honorable David Hurley AC DSC

En 2016, le fondateur et président Peter Freedman a reçu l'Ordre d'Australie pour les services destinés à l'exportation et la philanthropie dans les arts.

Peter Freedman AM et le premier ministre de l'Australie, l'honorable Malcolm Turnbull au siège de Silverwater, février 2017

En février 2017, le premier ministre d'Australie, l'honorable Malcolm Turnbull, a rendu visite au camp de Silverwater et a rendu hommage au succès de RØDE en disant « RØDE Microphones représente une légende... ils sont les meilleurs au monde ». C'est une histoire extraordinaire.

Pour célébrer l'événement, RØDE a produit le livre commémoratif Histoire de RØDE du côté de la rue au monde entier : À l'intérieur des 50 ans de Freedman Electronics et de RØDE Microphones.

LES 50 PROCHAINES ANNÉES

RØDE continuera à innover, à créer de nouveaux produits et catégories, à améliorer la production et le service, et finalement à inspirer des millions à réaliser leur vision créative avec des microphones et des accessoires abordables et d'une qualité et d'une précision de pointe.

De Sydney en Australie, et maintenant de toutes les villes dans le monde, bienvenue à RØDE.

Important information about purchasing from Amazon in the US.

RØDE Microphones does not authorize Fulfilled By Amazon. We have purchased counterfeit RØDE products using Fulfilled by Amazon and highly recommend that you only purchase RØDE products from authorised dealers.

If you purchase any RØDE microphone from an unauthorized dealer via Fulfilled By Amazon you will not receive any US warranty or technical support.

You can view a full list of authorized US dealers here.

G'day from Sydney!

Welcome to RØDE Microphones - a uniquely Australian owned and operated audio company. Our home is in beautiful Sydney, just 20km west of Sydney's downtown area and right near the home of the Sydney 2000 Olympics.

Comprising three warehouses with a total footprint of over 110,000 square feet, the RØDE state-of-the-art plant has over 60 million dollars in precision machinery and an international team of more than 250 people across highly skilled disciplines: electrical engineering, industrial design, technical engineering, metal production, toolmaking, logistics, assembly, quality control, finance, marketing and sales.

As well as our main campus in Sydney, we have offices in Los Angeles, New York, London, Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Seoul; the Tokyo office is due to release later in 2017. Our extensive distributor and 4000-strong dealer network ensures RØDE Microphones are sold in 113 countries – and growing – making RØDE a truly global company.

2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the parent company Freedman Electronics’ formation, a remarkable milestone in modern business.

The story of RØDE

Freedman Electronics painting
The original store on Liverpool Rd, Ashfield, in Sydney. Painting by Jim Wynne.

1967

The Doors Open

Freedman Electronics began in 1967 when Henry and Astrid Freedman opened shop after migrating to Australia from Sweden.

Freedman Electronics soon became a leader in the fledgling Australian audio industry, becoming experts in loudspeakers, amplifiers and custom electronics as well as dabbling in the odd microphone.

Freedman Electronics was also the first company in Australia to carry Dynacord consoles which gained fame in Australia whilst Henry sat behind the desk mixing a young Tom Jones during his 1968 tour of Australia.

Freedman Electronics engineers, c1989; Capsule Engineer John Qiu (centre) is still with the company.

1990

The Birth of RØDE

With the technological advancement and relative low cost of gear for the home recording enthusiast hitting new heights in the 1990s, the stage was set for the entry of a low-cost, high-quality microphone.

Having sourced a microphone from China and tested the market in Australia, Henry's son Peter Freedman and RØDE began creating the infrastructure to design, build and manufacture microphones in Australia.

Soon the entirely Australian designed, built and manufactured RØDE NT2 began to roll off the production line and start the amazing journey that has seen RØDE revolutionise how people record audio every day, all around the world.

Unlike most competitors, precision metal machining is performed in-house at RØDE, guaranteeing quality and efficiency.

2000

Manufacturing Success

RØDE has always had technology and precision manufacturing at the core of its values.

In a decision that is at odds with received wisdom, the 2000s saw RØDE invest heavily in the latest machinery and technology to produce world-class microphones across all categories at accessible prices, in Australia.

This investment in the machines of manufacture continues, and now includes the electronics, plastics and metals that make RØDE microphones revered around the world.

2008

On-camera Dominance

Early in the 2000s, Peter created an on-camera microphone so he could get decent audio of his son’s rugby matches. The RØDE VideoMic became a bestseller in 2008 as DSLR cameras became capable of producing cinema-quality video.

RØDE’s extensive range of on-camera microphones and accessories are the number one microphones in the category in the world. Like the NT2 in the early 1990s, this was another example of RØDE making professional quality audio products available to a new generation of creators.

2017

50 Years!

From its humble beginning as a storefront in 1967, Freedman Electronics has become the home to four powerhouse pro audio brands: Aphex, Event Electronics, SoundField and, of course, RØDE Microphones.

Across music recording and performance, broadcast, filmmaking, newsgathering and wireless, RØDE has become the go-to microphone and, along the way, a global powerhouse in pro audio.

Over the years RØDE has been recognised as an industry leader in design and business, earning numerous Red Dot awards, Australian International Design awards and the Australian Manufacturing Exporter of the year for 2013.

RØDE Founder Peter Freedman accepts the Order of Australia from the Governor-General of NSW, His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC

In 2016, Founder & Chairman Peter Freedman was awarded the Order of Australia for services to export and philanthropy in the arts.

Peter Freedman AM and the Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP at the Silverwater HQ, February 2017

In February 2017, the Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, visited the Silverwater campus and paid homage to RØDE’s success and anniversary, saying, “RØDE Microphones are legend… they are the best in the world. It’s an extraordinary story.”

To celebrate the milestone, RØDE produced the commemorative book, RØDE TRIP Street Side to Worldwide: Inside 50 Years of Freedman Electronics and RØDE Microphones.

THE NEXT 50 YEARS

RØDE will continue to innovate, to create new products and categories, to improve production and service, and, ultimately, to inspire millions to realise their creative vision with cutting edge, precision-quality, accessible microphones and accessories.

From Sydney, Australia and now every city in the world, Welcome to RØDE.